REVIEW: Queen of Someday (Book 1) – Sherry D. Ficklin

queen of somedayQueen of Someday*

Sherry D. Ficklin

Book 1

Paperback, 262 pages

Expected publication 7th October 2014 by Clean Teen

ISBN: 978-1-94503-490-9

Rating:
– 5.0 stars

“ONE GIRL WILL BRING AN EMPIRE TO ITS KNEES…

Before she can become the greatest empress in history, fifteen-year-old Sophie will have to survive her social-climbing mother’s quest to put her on the throne of Russia—at any cost.

Imperial Court holds dangers like nothing Sophie has ever faced before. In the heart of St. Petersburg, surviving means navigating the political, romantic, and religious demands of the bitter Empress Elizabeth and her handsome, but sadistic nephew, Peter. Determined to save her impoverished family—and herself—Sophie vows to do whatever is necessary to thrive in her new surroundings. But an attempt on her life and an unexpected attraction threatens to derail her plans.

Alone in a new and dangerous world, learning who to trust and who to charm may mean the difference between becoming queen and being sent home in shame to marry her lecherous uncle. With traitors and murderers lurking around every corner, her very life hangs in the balance. Betrothed to one man but falling in love with another, Sophie will need to decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice in order to become the empress she is destined to be.

In a battle for the soul of a nation, will love or destiny reign supreme?”


Wow! I have no idea where to begin with this book. This is one of my first YA historical fiction novels and I can it did not disappoint . I was gripped right from the kick-ass opening scene, right until the mysterious yet brilliant ending. I was caught hook, line and sinker with this novel about a young girls battle in a world that seems perfect on the surface but is sinister and twisted underneath. I think one of the reasons I loved this book so much is because there was no fantasy or paranormal element the book. I would have loved it just if there had been, but to see that somewhere seemingly so safe can be so deadly without a hint of magic or witchcraft was so haunting.


I really liked Sophie by the end of the book. She definitely grew on me over the course of the story. At the beginning I thought she was a bit predictable pulling the im-not-your-typical-princess act, but as the tale unfolded I really felt compelled to read on and see how Sophie dealt with the situations she had to face. I also enjoyed learning that Sophie’s character is based on Catherine the Great. The romance in this book was definitely well balanced too. When more romance presented itself in the book I thought it would get a bit eye-roll worthy; but again, the book took a different turn and left me stunned. It was definitely the opposite of predictable, put it that way.


I would definitely recommend this book without a doubt. However, because of the mature themes that are explored in Queen of Someday, I wouldn’t recommend it to younger readers. I thoroughly enjoyed submersing myself into Sophie’s world and I am so excited for the next book, even though I have no idea where we’re going to end up. But I have no doubt that it will be epic. If you enjoyed Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series, you should definitely check this out when it’s published in October- it won’t disappoint!

Thanks for reading. Please like and comment below if you have read this book, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.


* This book was sent to me by a publisher in return for an honest review.
2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Queen of Someday (Book 1) – Sherry D. Ficklin

Leave a Reply

