REVIEW: Blood Entwines – Caroline Healy

Blood EntwinesBlood Entwines*

Caroline Healy

Stand Alone (?)

eBook, 250 pages

Published 1st August 2014 by Bloomsbury Spark

ISBN: 978-1-40886-191-2

Rating:
– 3.5 stars

“In the aftermath of a blood transfusion that saved her life, Kara feels different. Her senses are stronger … she can hear whispered comments not meant for her ears … she can hear the person following her.

When Jack, her stalker, reveals himself and insists that Kara has something that belongs to him, she does her best to avoid him. But he’s determined to talk to her, convinced that they’re linked through the blood she received during her transfusion.

Jack is struggling against a dark and dangerous demon. His body is host to the evil power that wants Kara’s blood and will stop at nothing to get it, but when Jack himself is able to regain control he tries to warn her away. Can Kara save Jack without risking her own life?”


I really enjoyed Blood Entwines, it had an original plot and characters that I could invest myself in. It opened with an accident which changes Kara’s life forever. Her blood transfusion changes her, and now she’s stronger- different. Then when she meets Jack, her blood calls for him- literally. It’s like it’s trying to escape her body. Trying to return to it’s original donor.  The beginning of the book was written really well, flipping perspective sentence after sentence. Adding to the tension and making the reader read on and on.


I loved the concept of this book, I think it had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, I don’t think it fully lived up to that potential. I found the characters interesting, nothing original though, but I found that there was no solid description of the characters looks that stuck in my mind. I still can’t build up a picture of any of the characters in my mind. I also found I couldn’t place the setting of this book. It felt like it could have been set anywhere, as there was again no solid description of the setting that stuck in my mind. There were also a lot of unanswered questions by the end of the book. Questions, I felt, should have been answered  in the first book. I felt that a lot the loose ends could’ve tied up easily and would have made the concept off the book a lot clearer. Even nearly two weeks after reading the book, I still don’t fully understand what happened at the end of the book with the “evil power that wants Kara’s blood…”.


However, I do have faith that if another book was to be written for this series, it would hopefully begin to answer some of the questions that occurred during Blood Entwines. So overall, this is definitely a good book that I enjoyed reading (as I did read it in one sitting) and would without a doubt pick up the next book if it is released.


Thanks for reading. Please like and comment below if you have read this book, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.


* This book was sent to me by a publisher in return for an honest review.
Leave a Reply

