REVIEW: The Revealed (Book 1) – Jessica Hickam

the revealedThe Revealed*

Jessica Hickam

Book 1

eBook

Published June 17th 2014 by SparkPress

ISBN: 978-1-940-71600-8

Rating:
– 4.8 stars

“Lily Atwood lives in what used to be called Washington, D.C. Her father is one of the most powerful men in the world, having been a vital part of rebuilding and reuniting humanity after the war that killed over five billion people. Now he’s running to be one of its leaders.
But in the rediscovered peace on Earth, a new enemy has risen. They call themselves the Revealed – a powerful underground organization that has been kidnapping 18 year olds across the globe without reservation. No one knows why they are kidnapping these teens, but it’s clear something is different about these people. They can set fires with a snap of their fingers and create a wind strong enough to barrel over a tree with a flick of their wrist. No one has been able to stop them, and they have targeted Lily as their next victim.
But Lily has waited too long to break free from her father’s shadow to let some rebel organization just ruin everything. Not without a fight.”


This book was so not what I expected. It was fast paced, action packed and definitely worth the read. I got through 90% in one day and it was literally painful to put it down. Hickam has created a world that instantly drew me in and the characters were also interesting and I really cared for them. The book opens with the main character stealing her fathers Aston Martin and trying to escape from her home, where she is trapped for one year so that she is isn’t taken by The Revealed.


I think the main reason that I liked this book so much, was the fact that there wasn’t any wasted words or chapter just to “add tension” or build up on a false climax. The book just flowed. I was scared when Lily was scared. I was happy when she was. And I was scared when she was. The traits of a great book if you ask me. I wasn’t confused by the writing at any point, I wasn’t bewildered when the characters decided on plans or schemes. The main character, Lily, isn’t exactly original but she definitely isn’t stereotypical either. It’s a perfect balance between the realism a character should have and the idealism that she reacts to certain things in potentially predictable ways.


This book was written from Lily’s point of view, in the first person. At some points I wondered if it would have been better written from the love interests point of view too. But then I thought it probably would’ve been too long and then the pace would’ve been broken and staggered more. Jessica Hickam’s writing style was sustained perfectly through the book and her techniques were well placed and dynamic.


To sum up, this book is perfect for fans of dystopia like Veronica Roth’s Divergent or Susan Ee’s Angelfall series. I am so excited for Jessica’s next book in this debut series, The Enraged. The cover for the next book is also stunning, and a date has not yet been confirmed. But, I will definitely be picking it up ASAP!!


Thanks for reading. Please like and comment below if you have read this book, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.

* This book was sent to me by a publisher in return for an honest review.
Leave a Reply

