REVIEW: Cinder, Scarlet & Cress (Books 1,2&3) – Marissa Meyer

cinderCinder

Marissa Meyer

Book 1

Paperback, 387 pages

Published January 5th 2012 by Puffin

ISBN: 978-0-141-34013-5

Rating:
– 4.5 stars

“Cinder, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.
Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.”

Why oh why did I not pick this book up sooner?! As soon as I started to read it I was instantly enticed to read more, and was absorbed into the setting, the characters and the outcomes their actions had on each other. This book was written from multiple POV’s and, for me, was tricky to immediately enjoy thoroughly. But I soon got used to it and was glad it was written the way it was. Meyer’s writing is amazing and consistent and was really dynamic. She has created some really unique and original characters that I really connected with and cared about. I loved Cinder, she was kick-ass and really easy to understand. I enjoyed learning more about her past and how she came to end up in New Beijing. The only problem I had with this book was that I guessed what one of the major plot twists in the story pretty quickly. But I think it was just a lucky guess. Overall, I loved how short the book was and I flew through it. If you’ve been putting off reading Cinder– Don’t! It is so worth the read, ten-fold.


scarletScarlet

Marissa Meyer

Book 2

Paperback, 452 pages

Published February 7th 2013 by Puffin

ISBN: 978-0-141-34023-4

Rating:
– 4.1 stars

“Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. The police have closed her case. The only person Scarlet can turn to is Wolf, a street fighter she does not trust, but they are drawn to each other.
Meanwhile, in New Beijing, Cinder will become the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive – when she breaks out of prison to stay one step ahead of vicious Queen Levana.
As Scarlet and Wolf expose one mystery, they encounter Cinder and a new one unravels. Together they must challenge the evil queen, who will stop at nothing to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner . . .”


Scarlet starts telling a separate story than Cinder, but we still revisit Cinder multiple times in the book. Again, I fell in love with the setting and the additional characters. I don’t feel I connected with them as well as what I did in Cinder, but still cared for them immensely. I enjoyed watching the links between all of the characters grow and evolve; making me love this book and its complexity even more! I adored how every word, every detail could be a clue into how the story is going to unravel. Altogether, I loved the consistency and detail that this book maintained and it built upon my love for Marissa Meyer and her writing.

CressCress*

Marissa Meyer

Book 3

Paperback, 550 pages

Published February 6th 2014 by Puffin

ISBN: 978-0-141-34015-9

Rating:
– 3.8 stars

“Cress grew up as a prisoner. With only netscreens for company, she’s forced to do the bidding of the evil Queen Levana. Now that means tracking down Cinder and her handsome accomplice Emperor Kai. But little does Queen Levana know that those she seeks, and the man she loves, are all plotting her downfall… As paths cross and the price of freedom rises, happily ever after has never seemed further away for Cress, Scarlet and Cinder.”


I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t read this book quickly because of school work, or whether this book just really slowed down. I did feel it was a little bit too long for what happened. I did also feel that some of the relationships between characters felt a little similar, but hopefully they will converged in the next book and become individual. Additionally, some of the plans that the characters formulated really confused me and I felt that some of them could have been explained slightly better. But I did still love Marissa Meyer’s writing style and how she has continued to build on the atmosphere and tension in the book. However, once again I did predict one of the main plot twists quite early on in the book, I’m still not sure whether this is a good or bad thing. All in all I still really did like this book (especially the ending), but I did however find the first two books slightly better than book 3.

To conclude, the Lunar Chronicles has been an amazing series so far and I especially loved the first book, Cinder. I am really excited to read Winter; which is going to be based on Snow White. The final book is expected to be published November 5th 2015.

Thanks for reading. Please like and comment below if you have read this book, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.

* This book [Cress] was sent to me by a publisher in return for an honest review.
Leave a Reply

