REVIEW: Throne of Glass (Book 1) – Sarah J. Maas

Throne of glassThrone of Glass

Sarah J. Mass

Book 1

Paperback, 406 pages

Published 2nd August 2012 by Bloomsbury

ISBN: 978-1-4088-3233-2

Rating:
– 4.8 stars

Meet Celaena Sardothien. Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.
In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.
Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?”


Wow, this book blew me away. I had heard a lot of great stuff about it but was antsy to read it as I am not a huge fantasy fan, but it is something I do want to become more interested in. And boy, was this a great choice! The synopsis tells you pretty much all you need to know before delving into this book: Celaena was an infamous assassin before she got caught and sent to Endovier- where she was to work until her death, as ordered by the king. But the king’s son Dorian and his friend and Captain of the guard Chaol arrive to take Celaena back tot he king’s castle to take part with other master criminal’s, soldier’s and fighter’s from across the kingdom to fight for the chance to become the king’s ‘Champion’, his ultimate assassin. But Celaena is also offered her freedom if she wins. And she’ll do anything to claim it.

The characters in this book are fantastic. Celaena is just so kick-ass, she has to be one of my all time favourite heroine’s. She’s smart, cunning and beautiful; a perfect cocktail for an assassin. Dorian was so sweet and he created the humour and lightness in this book as he brought the best out in everyone. And Chaol also brought out another side to Celaena. He is more serious than Dorian, but I think in the books to come we will see that something has made him that way and we’ll find out what and why. Hopefully, we’ll find out more about all the character’s pasts, especially what happened to Celaena’s parents. As I think this was a pivotal event in not just her life but will be essential in the story.


This book is written in third person from multiple POV. But don’t worry, it is all clear and I had no problem figuring out whose point of view it was. The description was great in this book and I had no problem in it. However the only thing I had a problem with was I didn’t feel like there was loads of world building, but this is mainly because the duration of this book was spent within the castle grounds. So fingers crossed there is more exploration of this setting during the next books in this series. Series I am so happy this is a series, three books would definitely not have been enough!


To sum up, go get this book! I am not a huge fan of fantasy and I loved it as there was only a small introduction to the fantasy element in this book. So I think I would recommend this book to anyone who likes series, kick-ass characters, romance and mystery. I have already bought book two Crown of Midnight and the novellas The Assassin’s Blade and cant wait to get stuck in. Plus, I’m ready for Heir of Fire which is predicted for release on September 2nd 2014.


Please like and comment below if you have read these books, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! You can comment below or you can contact me here.

P.S (If you’ve read this far) what team are you on? Chaol? Or Dorian? I can’t really choose, but right now this second I think I’m team Dorian.
2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Throne of Glass (Book 1) – Sarah J. Maas

  1. Lillie

    Aww, great review! Celaena is totally kick-ass! I’m glad you enjoyed reading the book but for me it was a little bit too predictable, following the typical High Fantasy scheme. Btw, I’m definitely Team Dorian (I think I’m always on the prince’s sides 😀 )

    Reply
    1. Bonfire Books Post author

      Thanks!
      Unfortunately I haven’t read lots of high fantasy as it isn’t normally the genre I immediately look to for fantastic books.
      But saying that, I do have to agree with you partly, as this is why I only give in 4.8 because at some points I did have a good idea of what was about to happen.
      Plus I have read Crown of Midnight and STILL don’t know who’s team I am on. I am leaning towards Dorian though 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

