REVIEW: Fever (Book 1) – Dee Shulman

FeverFever*

Dee Shulman

Book 1

Paperback, 400 pages

Published April 5th 2012 by Puffin

ISBN: 978-0-141-34026-5

Rating:
– 2.2 stars

“A fearless Roman gladiator. A Reckless twenty-first-century girl. A mysterious Virus Unites them… 152 AD Sethos Leontis, a Skilled and mesmerising fighter, is unexpectedly wounded and lies dangerously close to death. 2012 AD Eva is brilliant – but troubled. Starting her new life at a school for the gifted, a single moment in the lab has terrifying results. An extraordinary link brings Sethos and Eva together, but it could force them apart – because the fever that grips them cannot be cured and falling in love could be lethal … Can love survive when worlds collide and time itself is threatened?”


This is the first novel in Dee Shulman’s Parallon trilogy and is set it two time periods: 152 AD Londinium (A.K.A London) and 2012 AD, where we start in York and move to London. The book starts with the heroin, Eva, arguing with her mum about Eva’s exclusion from school. This is her second exclusion from school, and this time she decided to choose hacking into the head-teacher’s email- which she very good at, by the way. So Eva makes the decision to enrol at a private boarding school called St. Magdaline’s, where she eventually feels happy nerding out in all her glory. That is until she is involved in a science experiment that goes wrong, from which she ends up in a critical condition in hospital.

However, in the next chapter we travel all the way back to 125AD, where we meet Seth. Seth is a gladiator who has been captured from his home and forced to fight in Londinium. Luckily though, he is one of the most skilled and notorious fighters. It is there he meets Livia, the most beautiful girl he has ever seen and instantly feels connected to her. Whilst fighting Seth suffers from a serious injury and ends up at Livia’s home. As the pair become closer they decide to escape from Londinium and Livia’s forced marriage to Cassius. Unfortunately, the escape doesn’t go well, leaving Livia dead and Sethos once again fighting for his life. This time however, he doesn’t survive. But he doesn’t die either. No, he ends up in parallon where- little does he know it- he is given the opportunity to meet Livia again. But is she the same Livia Seth thinks she is?


Ok, I know that probably sounds a bit hazy and a bit wtf, but this book was good and definitely had the ingredients for an amazing young adult novel; it had time travel, mixed with romance, with a sprinkle of Roman history. But that’s really where the amazingness ends. Unfortunately, I felt like I was reading a first or second draft and not a finished published book. It felt very repetitive and I felt like the author just skimmed over important events that would have made the book more thrilling. I enjoyed the all the settings in this book, especially the in-between-world of Parallon. The characters at St. Mag’s were interesting and contrasted well with the main character, Eva, and I want to see what happens with them in the next book. The relationship between Sethos and Livia, however, was not particularly well written but could’ve been a fantastic aspect of this book. It bloomed too quickly then we didn’t really see any reinforcement of the relationship.


This book was written in both third person and first person. For the chapters about Eva, they were written in first person and I had no problem reading and understanding these chapters. Seth’s chapters were a little harder to understand as they were written in third person and the POV changed quickly, which meant I had to reread passages once I had realised the POV had changed. There wasn’t an abundance of description in this novel either, which was disappointing as I think I would have been more likely to give it a higher rating. Also, Fever was not very well paced, it felt like nothing happened that was worth reading in the first 100 pages; and if I didn’t have to read this book for review, I’m not too sure if I would have finished it at all. I think the length of the chapters kept me enticed in the book. They are the perfect length and also have titles. I love books with chapter titles!


Overall, the characters in Fever were intriguing and I felt that their traits were original and not used too often. For example, Eva is obviously pretty and gets a lot of attention for it. But- and it’s a big but- she knows it. Not in a pretentious way, just in an observational way which I find so interesting and realistic. I didn’t really get the feel of an antagonist in this book, the only person who posed a threat was Cassius and possible the character of Zackary may come into play. I felt that the last 50 pages of the book were the best and definitely a highlight and worth reading the rest of the book to get to. Although the one major, major, major problem I had with this book was the amount of people who fainted! I mean seriously people were dropping like flies left, right and centre. I will be carrying on with the Parallon series not just because I have to review them, but because I am curious to see where the next books will take me. I would suggest this trilogy to fans of Alex Scarrow and Lauren Kate.


Please like and comment below if you have read this trilogy, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.


* This book was sent to me by a publisher in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

