TBR: Easter Holiday’s

Hello! This is my first TBR post on my blog and I am very excited to be talking about the books I want to try and read. So I have just broke up from school for the Easter Holiday’s, and amongst the revision for my 15 exams when I get back (literally, the first day back I have a German listening exam. Great), I want to read the fantastic books my wonderful Nana bought me. I’ll have exactly 2 weeks on Monday the 7th to read seven books. I don’t think I’ll manage it, but I will definitely try.

 

The books are the Song of Fire and Ice series by George R. R. Martin. If you are thinking that you have never heard of them, they are more commonly known as the Game of Thrones series. Ring a bell now? Yup, I’m bravely trying to challenge myself to read all 7 books, all 5022 pages.

A really hipster image of the series. Not taken by me, I'm not quite that hipster. Or that talented with a camera...

A really hipster image of the series. Not taken by me, I’m not quite that hipster. Or that talented with a camera…

If you want to try A Song of Fire and Ice, but are not sure what it’s about here’s the synopsis of the first book A Game of Thrones:

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

Sounds good, huh? I think so. It will be interesting for me, as this is the first deep fantasy series I have ever really read. Even in YA I am not a huge fan of fantasy and would rather pick up a sci-fi/ action instead. And of course, I will keep my marathon journey updated here, so you can see where I’m up to and what I think of the series.

2 thoughts on “TBR: Easter Holiday’s

  1. Zoe Ngombane

    Hi there! Honestly, chance led me to your blog (I was on Lady Liz’s then your bookish url caught my eye). But I also started reading the ASoIaF series and it’s going super well – read the first 2 so far. So I’ll keep coming back to your blog and seeing the reviews 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

