REVIEW: Angel Fever (Book 3) – L. A. Weatherly

Angel FeverAngel Fever

L. A. Weatherly

Book 3

Paperback, 566 pages

Published August 1st 2013 by Usborne Publishing Ltd UK

ISBN: 978-1-4095-2239-3

Rating:
– 4.9 stars

“In the devastated remains of the world, millions of people live in “refugee” camps provided by the angels who have all but enslaved humanity. As this angelic stranglehold tightens, Willow and Alex are recruiting and training new Angel Killers while struggling to hold ground on the celestial battlefield. But Willow continues to have feelings for Seb, and her love and resolve are tested as a shattering revelation sends Alex on a separate journey. Now that the final battle versus the angels is about to begin-and the fate of the world hangs in the balance-each of them must face the consequences of their own choices. Will love endure? Will the human race survive?”


Angel Fever is the final instalment in the Angle trilogy and find’s Alex, Willow and Seb at their new base in Nevada. The small group that escaped from Mexico City are now trying to accumulate new AK’s [Angel Killers], and are planning to attack the Salt Lake Eden; along with the other Eden’s that have popped up across the states due to Raziel. The future looks certain until the bond between angels is severed and the third wave attacks Earth.

This book was a fantastic way to end a truly amazing trilogy! Angel and Angel Fire both impressed me immensely, but this book had me blubbering like a child pretty much from page one.  Angel Fever was action-packed, full of plot twists, and had me engaged to the point where it hurt to put the book down. We get to see more characters and also see some of the characters from the first book, which I thought was great. We also learn even more about the world that Weatherly has so intricately put together.

I loved the use of POV’s in this trilogy and Angel Fever did not disappoint. The clarity between chapters written from Willow’s point of view (first person) and Alex, Seb and Raziel’s point of view (third person) was, as always, crystal clear.


Willow has had some upsetting ordeals in the previous books, and it doesn’t get much better for her in book three. When Alex “leaves” her I cannot even explain how emotional I was. I had to keep people at least a mile away from me, else I would probably would’ve bit their head of if they tried to talk to me. That’s how bad it was. I liked how Weatherly determined Willow’s and Seb’s relationship and felt it was a fitting resolution for the pair. I did love to see the side characters re-introduced and developed and it gave me a sense of how big the situation was. As normally you are so absorbed in the main characters story you discard those who have left the central story.


I would have like to have seen just a little bit more action during the final action scene, as I felt it was just ever so slightly rushed and a bit wishy-washy. But overall I liked the “happy-ever-after” ending Weatherly gave us, which has been long over-due because of the likes of Allegiant and Requiem.


This book is a hidden gem and deserves much more hype surrounding it. L. A. Weatherly creates a solid image of a world that has been destroyed by the very creatures who are supposed to protect it. I would definitely recommend this book to ANY YA lover. But, more specifically, I think fans of Lauren Kate’s Fallen series and Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series would love this intense, action packed, emotional trilogy. I will never forget this trilogy and hope to re-read it very soon, and start the whole tear-jerking journey all over again.


Please like and comment below if you have read this trilogy, you want to buy this book but need more persuading or if you agreed/disagreed with my review. I’d love to hear from you! Or you can contact me here.

Leave a Reply

